The Teaching of Hazrat Inayat Khan

Create a Bookmark

From this school of Sufism came four schools: the first was the Naqshibandi which works mostly with symbolism, ritual, and ceremony. The second was the Qadiri, which taught wisdom within the realm of the existing Islamic religion in the East. The third was the Sohrwardi which taught the mystery of life by the knowledge of metaphysics and the practice of self-control. The fourth was the Chishtiyya which represented the spiritual ideal in the realm of poetry and music. From these schools many branches sprang forth in Arabia, Turkey, Palestine, Tartary, Russian Turkestan, Bokhara, Afghanistan, India, Siberia, and other parts of Asia.